I Haven’t Washed My Hair For Five Years

On vacation in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador, I had an epiphany. The relentless pollution of our seas, rivers, waterways and precious water supplies by plastics, chemicals, and contaminants is also my responsibility. Apart from the fact that my hair was a perpetual frizzy uncontrollable mess for which there seemed to be no solution. It appeared I was doomed to live out my life looking like I’d just put my fingers in an electrical socket. I’d long since given up trying to tame my wild locks and resorted to making feeble—and spectacularly unsuccessful—attempts to keep it contained within the confines of a scrunchie.

During a scuba diving expedition in Ecuador’s magical archipelago, a live aquarium-like experience which included observing several species of sharks, manta rays, sea turtles, dolphins, sea lions, octopus, seahorses, and even the elusive sunfish, I realized how devastating it would be if our oceans were devoid of all this fantastic marine life. On the spot, I decided to quit using all hair and skin products. Effective immediately. Every shower, every hand wash, every time I did the dishes or the laundry, I was actively contributing to the death of multiple species, both in the water and on land. For several years previously, I had tried the bicarb soda and apple cider vinegar method with disastrous results, ending in dry brittle ends and even frizzier hair.

Like every other home-improvement project I’ve ever embarked upon, I jumped in feet first without looking. Sink or swim, as it were. A week later, my usual halo of hair had transformed itself into a dripping limpid disaster which contained more oil than the local greasy spoon. Holy smoking chip fryers! Was this supposed to happen? According the the internet, it was perfectly normal. My research concluded it could take anything between four to six months for my abused scalp to restore itself to its natural condition. Studying the personal hygiene habits of various native indigenous tribes, I discovered that natural hair-care included brushing, rinsing, and a lick of coconut oil if the tips felt a little dry.

Determined to succeed, I purchased a good quality wooden hair brush, several large silk head scarves and a decent supply of scrunchies made from natural fabrics. Almost every morning, a glance in the mirror confirmed that my hair looked as if it was preparing to leave me. Frequent brushing relieved the itching. Scarves and scrunchies hid the awful lankiness. Hot water—that I could comfortably put my hand into—washed away the dust of the day. Left to dry naturally, my normally curly mane returned to its lanky, haggard state. I could have fried eggs with the oil dripping from each strand. My hair screamed and squirmed for four long months, stoically enduring its painful withdrawal from harsh chemicals and unnatural substances.

Seventeen weeks in, I noticed a small difference. It dried softer. It was slightly bouncier. It shined, just a little. A week later, my curls came roaring back. They were no longer frizzy. They framed my face and sat there, behaving themselves. I felt like someone else’s hair had snuck in during the night and settled on my scalp. The results were far beyond my expectations. In a rare and daring move, I wore my hair loose one day. Friends asked if I’d had it done at a salon. As if I would be caught dead in a salon! This sealed the deal. I would never wash my hair with shampoo again. Conditioner would never again grace my bathroom shelves. I made organic coconut oil, rubbing a tiny bit into the tips if they felt dry. I sought out chemical-free soaps sold in eco-friendly packaging, and made lovely exfoliating face washes with plants from my garden (aloe vera, moringa, and tea tree). I bought bamboo toothbrushes (in recycled paper boxes), and made toothpaste with ingredients I already had in the kitchen, storing it in a small glass bottle.

Water would never feel violated by my actions again. Plastic shampoo and conditioner bottles in my trash can were no longer an issue. During the process of learning to maintain natural hair, I ditched all types of ecologically disastrous packaging. Revising my entire shopping culture, I realised that recycling is a path paved with good intentions, but does not actually solve the fundamental problem of excessive plastic that we face on planet Earth today. However, eliminating plastic packaging from my shopping basket was a step in the right direction.

Five years on, my scalp is no longer itchy or greasy. It’s neither dry nor flaky. I continue to brush daily and rinse my lovely locks weekly, adding a dab of organic coconut oil from time to time when it’s needed. I also invested in eco-friendly dish and laundry detergents. Meanwhile, I spend a lot of time campaigning manufacturing companies to change their packaging from plastics to glass, metal or recycled paper. And now, instead of looking like a crazed Medusa who escaped a psychiatric ward, I can do it with gorgeous shiny chemical-free hair. I have no doubt, if we all made a combined global effort, between us we could stop contaminating our water, reduce our plastic purchases, and brag about our glorious natural hair on social media. Are you up for it?

2 thoughts on “I Haven’t Washed My Hair For Five Years

  1. I was inspired to do the same after out lunch together in Galapagos. Still a bit like sheep dags but getting there.

    • I’m glad I could inspire you. The more the merrier on the NoPoo train!! Having healthy hair doesn’t mean having to destroy the environment. As you’re learning, there are good days and bad days, but it’s well worth it in the ends (pun intended).

Please comment